Good Morning From JBJ

Hello there! Its 7am on a rainy Friday morning, and guess where I am? You got it, the gym. Its nice to be able to write a quick blog while I am limping along on the treadmill. 

Thats right, I am STILL in pain from my leg workout 3 days ago! Its okay though, They feel significantly better, and I’m able to up my speed on my ‘walking machine of wonders’. You’re probably wondering how I messed up my legs so bad, but before I get there, lets talk about my fitness structure when I began working out. 

I mentioned beforehand that I do a 3 mile walk in the morning, which to be fair to myself, is more like a hike. This takes me around an hour. Thats workout number 1. In case of rain, I go to the gym and do a good 3 miles on that ‘wonders’ machine I talked about. Then I go to work, pretty much doubling my step intake, so technically, thats workout number 2. To top it of to a close 20,000 steps (which I don’t hit everyday), I go to the gym and use my guest pass at Chuze to bring a friend. Number 3. 

What do I do at the gym? Before my strength training, all I did was hop on the treadmill. Which, if you have the targets I have, of backpacking and running 5ks, is a great way to start. On the other hand, if you are looking to loose weight fast (recommend NOT doing), then this machine is not for you. It has helped me spread out my gradual weight loss, pushing at a 20,000 step goal using my fitbit. I occasionally pump up the speed, which with my legs how they are now – not very fast, to a light jog/run. Let me emphazie that running on a treadmill is definitely NOT the same as running on regular ground haha. It is a lot more strenuous. After finding out that little detail, I am for sure waiting until I can run on my ‘walking wonder’ before I venture outside again. 

After getting my schedule on a steady routine, which took a couple months, I finally started my strength training. Was super excited, until the next day that is. I decided it was a great idea to make myself do a circuit of 30 jumping jacks, 10 weight squats and 20 weightless lunges and then repeat them 3 times. Also adding abs to the mix with russian twists, a lying down bicycle and a few short planks, I was to say the least, in much pain and exhausted. 

The next day was so painful, that i literally couldnt walk. So yeah, my advice to you, is dont jump into countless squats and lunges until youve trained your legs a little more. Especially if you’re a server! I found also that doing a soft walk twice a day loosened up the pain a little, along with multiple piping hot baths. I heard a lot said about Creatine? Excuse me if I spelt that wrong. Maybe I’ll tty this stuff next time! Being low on funds means I can’t go all out with products. But my finacial stuff is for another blog.

Good luck with your Friday guys!

Peace out, yo.

Leave a Reply

